US Kitchen Operators: Compare Suppression Inspection Providers

Advertisement

Provider comparison: coverage, system fit and service scope

For Maryland, Virginia or Washington, DC, Guardian publishes explicit territory and system limits; CFS publishes Northern California coverage and a broad corrective-service list; AIE describes national, multi-location support and offers hood cleaning.[2][3][5]

An Asian chef wearing a face mask cooks a flaming dish in a commercial kitchen.
Provider Territory and system fit Inspection and defect follow-up Records and cleaning
Pye-Barker Fire & Safety Commercial cooking suppression systems. Complete territory is unknown, although its page includes a Michigan service request.[1] Describes semiannual inspection, component testing and correction or replacement of faulty or old parts.[1] Provides a system tag and customer report and sends the report to the local fire department. Cleaning is not confirmed as included; the company recommends cleaning the hood before inspection.[1]
AIE Fire Describes national, multi-location support. Covered states and system exclusions are not listed.[2] Offers inspection and service, but does not publish detailed defect-correction or dedicated retesting terms.[2] Provides an electronic service-and-inspection history and offers hood cleaning. Bundling is not confirmed.[2]
Guardian Fire Protection Maryland, Virginia and Washington, DC. Limits its work to kitchen suppression systems, including UL 300 wet-chemical systems described as complying with NFPA 17A.[3] Offers suppression-system inspection, testing, certification and reporting. Dedicated retesting terms are not published.[3] Provides detailed service records. Hood and exhaust-fan service is expressly excluded.[3]
Koorsen Fire & Security Commercial-kitchen inspection and maintenance. Inspection territory and eligible models are not verified.[4] Lists inspection, servicing, fusible-link replacement, agent and cylinder checks, and remediation guidance.[4] The supplied page does not specify the customer handover. Professional deep cleaning is advised, but provision or bundling is not confirmed.[4]
CFS Fire Protection Northern California restaurants, mobile commercial kitchens, food trucks and concession stands.[5] Offers inspection, functional testing, maintenance, recharge, certification, violation correction, retrofit and emergency repair or replacement.[5] The exact customer report and whether hood or exhaust cleaning is available are not stated.[5]
Confires Commercial-kitchen suppression inspections. Geographic eligibility is not established in the supplied page.[6] Lists component and interlock checks and documentation of observed deficiencies. Manufacturer-required cartridge replacement costs extra.[6] The report format, authority filing and availability of hood or exhaust cleaning are not stated.[6]

An unknown does not mean a provider lacks the capability. It means the property address, system manufacturer and model, repair authority, retesting, records and cleaning arrangements need written confirmation before booking.

All six sources are provider-published pages rather than government or standards publications.[1][2][3][4][5][6] The AIE article is dated March 3, 2020, and the Koorsen article is dated April 6, 2022; publication dates are not shown for the other supplied pages.[1][2][3][4][5][6] These sources do not verify current code editions, local permit rules or technician-license categories.

Keep suppression inspection separate from hood cleaning

Suppression service covers components such as detection and release mechanisms, agent-delivery lines and nozzles, manual activation, and gas or electrical shutoffs. Hood and exhaust cleaning addresses grease and residue in the ventilation path.[1][2][3][4]

  • AIE Fire offers suppression service and hood cleaning, but does not say both are included in one appointment or price.[2]
  • Guardian does not service hoods or exhaust fans.[3]
  • Pye-Barker recommends cleaning the hood before inspection so grease does not obstruct access, but does not say cleaning is included.[1]
  • Koorsen recommends professional deep cleaning because exterior cleaning and visual checks do not clean duct interiors. Its page does not confirm that it provides cleaning with the inspection.[4]

Request separate written line items for the suppression inspection, hood cleaning, duct and fan cleaning, access-panel work, and any suppression check needed after cleaning. If one company handles both services, ask who will perform the suppression work and what record will be issued for each service. The supplied pages do not establish universal qualification or documentation terms for bundled visits.[1][2][3][4]

Compare inspection scope and handover records

Across the vendor descriptions, recurring inspection categories include piping and nozzles, pressure or agent condition, manual pulls, detection components, fuel shutoffs, fan or electrical interlocks, system tagging and reporting.[1][2][3][4][5][6] Published details differ:

  • Pye-Barker describes checks covering component compatibility, hood condition and cartridges. Ask the contractor to explain the manufacturer-specific inspection and testing scope for the installed system.[1]
  • Koorsen lists tamper indicators and seals, armed or ready status, nozzle coverage, leakage or prior discharge, correct agent and cylinder fullness.[4]
  • Confires lists appliance, duct and plenum-nozzle placement; detector and link-line position; terminal test-link activation; tank corrosion; test dates; piping tightness; and electrical interlocks.[6]
  • CFS describes a complete functional test that includes heat detectors and fuse links behind the exhaust hood’s grease filters.[5]

Handover commitments also vary. Pye-Barker says it leaves a Commercial Cooking System Service and Inspection report with the customer and sends it to the local fire department.[1] AIE offers an electronic service-and-inspection history.[2] Guardian promises detailed service records.[3] Confires says observed deficiencies are documented, but does not specify the format or authority filing.[6] The supplied Koorsen and CFS pages do not confirm an exact customer report, photo record or filing receipt.[4][5]

Clarify what “test” means. A functional test should not be assumed to mean actual release of extinguishing agent. Require a qualified contractor to identify the applicable manufacturer procedure, the installed system and the local fire authority’s requirements, and to explain any discharge, recharge or restoration work included in the quotation. This is a procurement question, not an instruction for restaurant staff to activate or disable equipment.

Advertisement

Before selecting a provider, request examples of its inspection report, system tag, deficiency notice and filing receipt. Also confirm which records will be left with the customer, submitted to the local authority or retained electronically.

Defect correction, recharge and retesting

A deficiency report does not show whether the defect was corrected or retested. The work order should separate inspection, repair authorization, recharge when applicable, retesting and final documentation.

Published commitments are not equivalent. Pye-Barker says it corrects or replaces faulty or old parts, while Koorsen describes remediation guidance without publishing detailed repair or return-test terms.[1][4] CFS lists recharge, violation correction, repair, replacement, retrofit and redesign.[5] Confires documents observed deficiencies and charges extra when the manufacturer requires cartridge replacement.[6]

The supplied AIE and Guardian pages describe inspection and service but do not establish detailed defect-correction procedures or dedicated return-test terms.[2][3] None of the six sources confirms whether retesting occurs during the original appointment, requires a return visit, adds a trip charge or produces a separate closure filing.[1][2][3][4][5][6]

Get written answers to these questions before approving corrective work:

  • Who may authorize added labor and parts?
  • Which repairs require a separate quote?
  • What status will appear on the system tag if work remains open?
  • Who schedules and pays for a return visit?
  • What test will close the deficiency?
  • What updated report or filing will document the result?

The closeout record should distinguish defects observed, work completed, work deferred, retest status and any filing made. The supplied research does not establish one required form or closure process for every jurisdiction.[1][2][3][4][5][6]

Pricing and contract gaps

None of the supplied provider pages publishes enough information to establish a national inspection price.[1][2][3][4][5][6]

Provider Published price information Unpublished terms
Pye-Barker No inspection price is published.[1] Repair rates, contract length, renewal and cancellation.[1]
AIE Fire No inspection price is published.[2] Bundling price, contract duration and cancellation.[2]
Guardian A quote is required.[3] Repair pricing, contract duration and cancellation.[3]
Koorsen No inspection price is published.[4] Repair pricing, contract duration and cancellation.[4]
CFS New customers are offered a free initial compliance inspection and estimate. Later-service pricing is not published.[5] Recurring charges, contract duration and cancellation.[5]
Confires A quote is required. Manufacturer-required cartridge replacement costs extra.[6] Other repair prices, contract duration and cancellation.[6]

The pages also do not verify travel charges, taxes, most repair-part charges, warranties, appointment duration, recurring fees or pass/fail guarantees.[1][2][3][4][5][6] CFS’s free initial compliance inspection and estimate should not be read as free ongoing inspection, certification or repair; those later prices are not published.[5]

For a like-for-like comparison, ask each provider to price the base inspection, number and type of systems, routine materials, filing, travel, after-hours work, hood cleaning, repair labor, parts, recharge, return visits and retesting separately. Request the complete service agreement because duration, renewal and cancellation terms are not published.[1][2][3][4][5][6]

A local example: Seattle certification and reporting

Seattle requires appropriate certification for people installing, maintaining, servicing or testing fire and life-safety systems. Its fire department describes system test reporting and repair close-out responsibilities, including follow-up when a system is impaired.[7][8] These are Seattle requirements, not a statement of nationwide US law. Elsewhere, confirm credentials, adopted requirements and reporting with the authority having jurisdiction. Have the contractor identify who will complete the report, address defects and document restoration.

Advertisement

Verify provider fit before booking

  1. Confirm the address. Obtain written confirmation that the provider serves the property. Published coverage is incomplete for Pye-Barker, AIE, Koorsen and Confires.[1][2][4][6]
  2. Identify the installed system. Send the manufacturer, model, previous service reports and open deficiencies. Ask which systems the provider can inspect, repair and recharge.
  3. Check technician acceptance. Ask the system manufacturer and local authority having jurisdiction which credentials and filings they accept for the job. Koorsen directs readers to manufacturers and the authority for verification and code interpretation.[4]
  4. Approve the procedure. Require a scope listing the components and functional tests. Vendor descriptions differ on nozzle, line, detection, interlock and agent-related work.[1][3][4][5][6]
  5. Define closeout. Identify who can repair defects, recharge the system, perform retesting and submit the final record.
  6. Separate cleaning. State whether hood and exhaust cleaning is included, separately scheduled or excluded.

Prepare for the appointment

Arrange a suitable service window, tell staff what areas need access and follow the contractor’s written preparation instructions. The contractor must determine whether any alarm or suppression impairment is required and coordinate the applicable notification, protection and restoration arrangements. Do not assume every visit requires the fire alarm to be disabled, and do not have unqualified staff disable it.[1][2]

Before the technician leaves, collect the available records or obtain a dated delivery commitment. The closeout package should identify the inspection report, updated tag, deficiencies, completed repairs, retest status, outstanding work and invoice breakdown. If a filing is expected, ask for evidence of submission or written identification of who will submit it.

Between professional visits, AIE and Guardian recommend monthly owner or manager visual checks for grease, clogs, damaged nozzle caps and damaged extinguishing lines. Pye-Barker also recommends monthly visual inspections.[1][2][3]

Decision rule: Treat inspection, defect correction, retesting, authority filing and hood cleaning as separate line items until the provider confirms otherwise in writing.

References

  1. Kitchen Hood Fire Suppression System Inspections: What To Expect — Pye-Barker Fire & Safety – Pye-Barker Fire & Safety (pyebarkerfs.com)
  2. Commercial Kitchen Fire Suppression System Inspections (aiefire.com)
  3. Kitchen Fire Suppression Inspection | Maryland, DC, VA (guardianfireprotection.com)
  4. Preparing for a Kitchen Hood Fire Suppression System Inspection (koorsen.com)
  5. Kitchen Fire System Inspect Test Certify Service | CFS Fire Protection (cfsfireprotection.com)
  6. Kitchen Fire Suppression System Inspection | Confires (confires.com)
  7. Seattle Fire: Systems Testing (seattle.gov)
  8. Seattle Fire: Certification Testing (seattle.gov)

Back to top button