Advertisement

U.S. Failed-Drive Owners: Compare Data-Recovery Labs

For a clicking, grinding, undetected, or physically damaged drive, power it down and compare laboratory services before approving recovery; Best Buy’s basic in-store path is limited to qualifying drives that still work.[1][2][4][6]

Detailed view of an open hard disk drive showing its internal components.

Do not repeatedly restart the drive or run recovery software. Ontrack says continued reading or writing can overwrite lost data, while Secure Data Recovery and File Savers warn that continued operation can worsen physical damage.[1][4][6]

Advertisement

Choose In-Store or Direct-Lab Assessment

When in-store service may be appropriate

Best Buy’s Level 1 in-store service covers qualifying working drives needing deleted-file recovery, help after reformatting, or basic access assistance. Qualification is not guaranteed.[2] Corrupted file systems, operating-system restoration, imaging, and some hardware or firmware work move to higher service levels.[2]

When the drive requires laboratory escalation

Best Buy routes physically damaged drives requiring seal-breaking to Level 3 cleanroom service, with complicated cases sent to Geek Squad City.[2] Ontrack says clicking or grinding mechanical failures require cleanroom handling before the drive is opened.[1] Gillware and File Savers also advertise ISO 5/Class-100 cleanroom capability.[5][6]

A service counter may accept a physically failed drive without performing the recovery in that store. Ask where the drive will be opened and how each transfer will be documented.

Advertisement

Compare Six Hard-Drive Recovery Services

The three deciding dimensions are the physical-case route, the result that triggers payment, and the published turnaround. All service and performance details below come from provider pages rather than independent comparative testing.

Ontrack

  • Physical-case route: Clicking or grinding mechanical failures require cleanroom handling. Ontrack says it supports hard drives across multiple interfaces and failures including electronic, mechanical, water, and fire damage.[1]
  • Acceptance and payment: Ontrack evaluates the device, supplies a recoverable-file list, and starts recovery after approval.[1]
  • Turnaround: Emergency service operates continuously until completion, Priority averages 2–5 business days, and Standard averages 7–14 business days.[1]
Advertisement

Best Buy Geek Squad

  • Physical-case route: Level 1 is limited to qualifying working drives. Devices requiring seal-breaking move to Level 3 cleanroom service, while complicated cases go to Geek Squad City.[2]
  • Acceptance and payment: Best Buy charges $49.99 for the initial service.[2]
  • Turnaround: Best Buy says timing varies by device and failure type.[2]

DataRecovery.com

  • Physical-case route: DataRecovery.com lists hard-drive recovery alongside SSD, RAID, SAN/NAS, tape, ransomware, and mobile recovery services.[3]
  • Acceptance and payment: It advertises a free evaluation, no obligation, and “No data, no charge.”[3]
  • Turnaround: Request a case-specific turnaround estimate and physical-case route before approval.
Advertisement

Secure Data Recovery

  • Physical-case route: Its hard-drive service covers physical damage, mechanical failure, and logical errors, with remote, on-site, and in-lab cleanroom options.[4]
  • Acceptance and payment: The price follows assessment, may be declined after diagnosis, and will not exceed the quote. Secure says no recovery fee is due when data is not recovered.[4]
  • Turnaround: Obtain a case-specific estimate before approval.

Gillware

  • Physical-case route: Gillware advertises free laboratory evaluation and ISO 5/Class-100 cleanroom capability.[5]
  • Acceptance and payment: The customer approves a firm price and written, customer-defined recovery goals. Payment is due only if Gillware meets those goals.[5]
  • Turnaround: Standard service usually takes 6–10 business days; Priority targets 1–2 business days for an additional fee. Emergency service moves the case up the queue and includes nights and weekends.[5]
Advertisement

File Savers

  • Physical-case route: File Savers advertises ISO 5/Class-100 cleanroom capability and says mechanical failures may require cleanroom work and donor parts.[6]
  • Acceptance and payment: Diagnosis is free and carries no obligation, and the customer receives a firm quote before committing. Its guarantee is “No Data, No Charge.”[6]
  • Turnaround: Standard service is estimated at 7–14 days. Budget Service is described as an extended-timeline option when time is not critical.[6]

Define Successful Recovery Before Paying

“No data, no charge” does not identify which files must be usable. DataRecovery.com, Secure Data Recovery, and File Savers publish general no-data guarantees, but their pages do not explain how missing, corrupted, renamed, or non-priority files affect payment.[3][4][6]

Gillware directly ties payment to written, customer-defined recovery goals.[5] Ontrack provides a recoverable-file list before work proceeds, but its page does not state whether payment depends on delivering every approved file.[1] Best Buy does not publish a customer-defined acceptance standard.[2]

Before authorization, provide a prioritized list of essential folders and files. The written approval should define acceptable file integrity, whether particular versions are required, and whether partial recovery triggers payment.

Advertisement

Calculate the Total Cost

Best Buy publishes a $49.99 initial service charge; recovered files require either a customer-supplied external drive or one purchased separately.[2] The other five providers do not publish exact recovery prices on their service pages: Ontrack [1], DataRecovery.com [3], Secure Data Recovery [4], Gillware [5], and File Savers [6].

Secure says its quote depends on the device type and physical or logical damage, will not exceed the quoted amount, and may be declined after diagnosis.[4] File Savers says device type, capacity, failure type, and service speed affect its quote; drives of 4 TB or more require additional imaging time, and mechanical failures may require donor parts.[6]

Advertisement

Gillware’s free inbound UPS shipping applies to qualifying standard, non-emergency, single-device cases in the continental United States. Arrays, emergency cases, and legal or law-enforcement work receive different terms before approval.[5]

Best Buy says Level 1 is included with My Best Buy Total and members save 20% on higher service offerings, but the service page does not state the membership price or cancellation terms.[2]

Request a written quote marking each item as included, additional, or not applicable:

  • Evaluation or diagnostic fee
  • Cleanroom labor and donor parts
  • Priority or emergency service
  • External destination media
  • Inbound and return shipping
  • Taxes
  • Charges for declining recovery
  • Return shipping for the original drive
Advertisement

Compare Custody, Delivery, and Decline Terms

  • Ontrack: Recovered data is returned on an encrypted external device using free next-day delivery.[1]
  • Best Buy Geek Squad: Recovered files are returned to the store on an external drive supplied by the customer or purchased separately.[2]
  • Secure Data Recovery: Recovered files may be delivered on an encrypted drive or through a secure server.[4]
  • Gillware: Recovered data is supplied on an encrypted drive, with the password sent separately, and the original folder structure is retained.[5] A customer who declines after evaluation may pay return shipping or request secure recycling at no charge.[5]

Separate vendor security claims from verification

Secure says it undergoes regular SSAE 18 audits and uses FIPS-validated data-handling practices.[4] Gillware says data is not exposed to the internet, employees are background checked, and working copies are verified as destroyed one week after return.[5] These are vendor-published claims and were not independently verified here.[4][5]

Advertisement

Choose an Escalation Path

  • For clicking, grinding, non-detection, or suspected internal damage: Keep the drive powered down.[1][4][6] Consider Ontrack or Secure Data Recovery, which explicitly describe physical-failure handling.[1][4] Best Buy’s Level 3 route, Gillware, and File Savers describe cleanroom handling or capability.[2][5][6]
  • For a working drive with deleted files, reformatting, or basic access trouble: Best Buy’s in-store Level 1 service may qualify; physical work requiring seal-breaking is escalated.[2]
  • When payment must depend on named files: Gillware ties payment to written recovery goals.[5] Ontrack supplies a recoverable-file list before approval, but its final payment trigger should be confirmed.[1]
  • When timing controls the decision: Ontrack, Gillware, and File Savers publish service ranges.[1][5][6] Best Buy says timing varies, while DataRecovery.com and Secure Data Recovery do not publish fixed ranges.[2][3][4]
  • When confidentiality is critical: Compare written custody and retention terms rather than relying on a provider’s name or general security claims.

What to Confirm With Each Provider

Provider pages leave some pricing, acceptance, cancellation, custody, and original-drive terms unspecified, so obtain case-specific answers before shipping or authorizing work.

  • Intake: Receiving location, cleanroom route, and every transfer to another facility
  • Acceptance: Essential-file list, integrity requirements, and the exact payment trigger
  • Maximum cost: Approval ceiling covering donor parts, expedited work, media, shipping, taxes, and decline charges
  • Timing: Turnaround estimate or target and the next step if it is missed
  • Data custody: Encryption, password delivery, working-copy retention, deletion procedure, and breach-notification terms
  • Original drive: Return, storage, or recycling after successful recovery, failure, or quote rejection
  • Declining service: Evaluation charges, return shipping, recycling options, and any other amount due

Do not authorize recovery until the essential-file test, maximum payable amount, delivery method, and consequences of declining are in writing.

References

  1. Hard Drive Data Recovery (ontrack.com)
  2. Data Recovery Services & Hard Drive Recovery – Best Buy (bestbuy.com)
  3. Data Recovery Services for Hard Drives, SSD, Ransomware and More (datarecovery.com)
  4. Expert Data Recovery Services For Hard Drives and More (securedatarecovery.com)
  5. Data Recovery Services | Gillware Data Recovery Company Since 2004 (gillware.com)
  6. Hard Drive Data Recovery Service | Dead, Failed, Not Detected (filesaversdatarecovery.com)
Advertisement

Looking for something else?

Browse all articles →