Pet photography in Australia: compare sessions and image inclusions
Pawfect Pooch Photography and Peninsula Pawtraits both charge a $300 session fee, but the fee buys different things: Pawfect’s includes five high-resolution edited images and up to 90 minutes of shooting, while Peninsula’s covers up to an hour and its set of 15 high-resolution digitals costs A$150 (+GST) on top. [1][2] Compare them on location and handling first, then on files, permissions and the full total.

Pawfect is based in Sunbury, Melbourne; Peninsula’s pricing page does not state its city, state or travel boundary, so confirm it serves your area before comparing. [1][2]
Compare handling, included images and file permissions
Pawfect Pooch Photography
Session: $300 for a private on-location session, up to 90 minutes of shooting, which can include all people and animals from the same household. [1]
Location and handling: The photographer travels within 60 km of Sunbury and offers low-traffic locations, or a privately rented space for a “small fee”, for nervous or reactive dogs. [1] Its preparation list says your dog will need to understand sit and stay, but a later FAQ says not knowing either is “not at all” a problem. [1] Resolve that inconsistency before booking: explain what your dog can comfortably do and ask which approach the photographer would use. Pawfect says 95% of the dogs it photographs are on lead and that leads are removed from most final images. [1]
Included images: You choose from 35+ images, but the session fee includes five full, high-resolution edited images. Additional digitals cost $20 each or $190 for ten. [1] Compare the package on those five photographs rather than the gallery’s size.
Delivery and permissions: Pawfect sends an online gallery link within two weeks at most, which you can share, use to choose favourites and use to order prints. [1] Its page does not state download dimensions or personal-use and print-release terms. Gallery sharing should not be read as permission to download, print or post individual photographs.
Peninsula Pawtraits
Session: A$300 (+GST) for up to one hour, payable before or at the time of the shoot. Peninsula also accepts Afterpay and credit cards. [2]
Location and handling: Peninsula shoots at parks, beaches or a location you choose, and comes to your home for litters of baby puppies. [2] It says a well-trained or off-lead dog is not required, removes leads in editing and says Brooke provides guidance during the session. [2] If your dog is anxious or reactive, discuss space, distractions and how the session would be managed.
Included images: The pricing table lists a set of 15 fully processed high-resolution digitals at A$150 (+GST), separate from the session fee, for a total of A$450 (+GST). [2] The page does not say whether a smaller number of files can be bought.
Delivery and permissions: Peninsula says turnaround can be as quick as a couple of days, depending on the order. [2] Ask it to confirm download delivery and personal printing or posting permissions for a standard session. Its breeder Litter Package specifies images for website and social media, but that wording should not be carried over to an ordinary pet session. [2]
Separate viewing access from files you receive
A gallery link is not the same as a set of downloadable photographs. Pawfect makes the distinction concrete: the 35+ images are the selection pool, while five high-resolution edited images are included. [1] Keep three questions separate when comparing packages.
What can I download?
Ask each photographer to identify the exact selected-file count, pixel dimensions, file format and editing scope in the quote. Also check the delivery method, how long downloads remain available and whether delivered files carry watermarks. This turns a broad description such as “digital images” into a deliverable you can compare.
If you want more than the included allocation, check the price. Pawfect publishes its extra-file prices; ask Peninsula whether files are sold individually or only as the set of 15. [1][2]
What can I print?
Pawfect offers print ordering through its gallery. [1] Keep the option to buy a print from the photographer separate from permission to print a downloaded file elsewhere. Ask whether you may use another print supplier, what sizes the delivered files support and whether any personal-printing restrictions apply.
For a print or framed product, specify the size, material and finish you want quoted. Peninsula says its print and framing prices vary with those choices. [2] Neither provider publishes print prices, so compare a file-only order separately from an order that includes prints. [1][2]
What can I post?
Pawfect’s gallery-sharing statement concerns the gallery; Peninsula’s website and social-media wording concerns its breeder package. [1][2] Neither statement should substitute for the terms attached to your selected personal-use files.
Request a clear answer about personal social-media posting, photographer attribution and any restrictions. Have the quote identify both the photographs you will receive and the permissions attached to them, rather than relying on a gallery link or the phrase “high resolution”.
Build the full cost beyond the sitting fee
For digital files only, the published figures work out as follows: [1][2]
- Five edited images: Pawfect $300; Peninsula sells a set of 15, so its file total is A$450 (+GST).
- Fifteen images: Pawfect $300 plus ten extra files at $190, so $490; Peninsula A$450 (+GST), or A$495 including 10% GST.
Pawfect does not say whether its prices include GST, so ask before comparing totals. [1]
Pawfect Pooch Photography: travel beyond its 60 km Sunbury radius may cost extra, depending on the location and package, and its private-location option carries a “small fee”; request both amounts if they apply. [1] Price any prints you want separately from the five included edited files. [1]
Peninsula Pawtraits: print and framing prices vary with size, material and framing option. [2] Its breeder packages are priced separately: A$2,300 (+GST) for weekly litter sessions from birth to eight weeks, A$350 (+GST) for one litter session, and stud or litter announcements by enquiry. [2] These are not standard pet-session prices.
Keep the payment breakdown separate from the final total. Identify any booking payment, session charge, product credit and later balance, and when each falls due. Ask which payments count towards purchases and which are refundable.
Before paying, check both quotes describe the same outcome. A similarly named session may not include the same files, products or permissions.
Agree on weather, illness and behaviour-related changes
Neither pricing page states cancellation deadlines, rescheduling fees or what happens to payments when a session cannot go ahead, so ask both providers in writing. [1][2] Agree on what happens before committing payment.
- Unsafe or unsuitable weather: Who decides whether conditions are suitable, and when? Ask whether you can change the location or date, whether the payment transfers and whether a fee applies.
- Owner or pet illness: How much notice is required, including if illness develops on the day? Ask how postponement is approved and what happens to payments.
- A dog that cannot comfortably continue: If your dog cannot settle or safely use the agreed location, who decides whether to pause, relocate or stop? Confirm what happens to the session time and payments.
Handling flexibility is not a rescheduling promise. The providers describe measures such as leads, treats or quieter locations, but these do not establish cancellation or payment-transfer terms. [1][2]
Pawfect says it will reshoot or refund if you do not love any of your photographs. [1] Treat this as its stated satisfaction offer and ask for the claim deadline, refund scope and conditions in writing.
Pawfect schedules most sessions in the last two hours of daylight, with morning sessions for busy urban locations; ask how a weather change near that time is handled. [1]
What to confirm with each provider
Use one written enquiry to resolve these points:
- Location and handling: Give your proposed location and describe nervousness, reactivity, lead requirements or difficulty with sit/stay. Ask which venue and handling approach the photographer recommends, and the amount of any location-hire or travel charge. Ask Peninsula for its service area. [1][2]
- Session scope: Pawfect’s session covers everyone from one household; ask Peninsula how many pets its session covers and whether owners can appear. [1][2]
- Selected files and permissions: Request the resolution, delivery details and permission for personal printing and social-media posting.
- Products and total: Request itemised print, framing and delivery costs and any minimum purchase. Ask Pawfect whether its prices include GST. [1]
- Payments and changes: Request payment dates, refundable or credited amounts, cancellation deadlines, rescheduling charges and the agreed response to weather, illness or a pet needing to stop.
Keep the reply with the quote so you can check the eventual booking agreement against it.
Choose on location, handling and the complete offer
Pawfect Pooch Photography suits owners within reach of Sunbury who want a longer session, a small number of edited files at the session price and the option of a quiet or private location for a reactive dog. [1] Resolve the conflicting sit/stay advice first.
Peninsula Pawtraits suits owners who want 15 processed digitals as a set, a park or beach shoot and fast turnaround, or a breeder package for a litter. [2] Confirm its service area first.
Choose once the location and handling plan, selected photographs, personal-use terms, full cost and change policy are clear enough to accept.
References
- Pricing – Pawfect Pooch Photography – Pet Photographer Melbourne (pawfectpoochphotography.com)
- Pricing | Peninsula Pawtraits (peninsula-pawtraits.com.au)