Live Wedding Painting in the UK: Compare Composition, Studio Finishing and Delivery
Liam Dickinson includes studio fine-tuning, varnishing, framing and shipping; Tushar Sabale specifies an unframed 18 × 24-inch acrylic painting.[1][2] To compare their live wedding painting commissions, first align the scene, recognisable people, medium and dimensions, then compare attendance and the final artwork supplied.[3]

Liam Dickinson vs Tushar Sabale: compare the artwork first
A couple’s portrait and a wide scene with detailed architecture and guests involve different amounts of work.[3] These offers also differ in what happens after the wedding-day painting.[1][2]
Liam Dickinson
- Composition and artwork specification: You can choose the wedding scene, and Dickinson works from direct observation and photographs.[1] His wedding-service page states that he works in oils on a default 24 × 20-inch canvas, but does not state the included number of recognisable people.[1]
- Live attendance and completion: Dickinson usually arrives two hours before proceedings to begin the groundwork; the whole event-day process takes roughly six hours.[1] After the reveal, he takes the painting back to his studio for fine-tuning.[1]
- Final artwork supplied: The package includes varnishing, framing and shipping.[1]
Tushar Sabale
- Composition and artwork specification: The live wedding service uses an 18 × 24-inch acrylic canvas, normally showing the couple full-length against the venue and decorations.[2] Friends or family require advance discussion and may change the price and timing; Sabale reserves artistic discretion over the presentation.[2]
- Live attendance and completion: Sabale requires at least five to six hours at the venue.[2] If time is insufficient, he will try to finish in another convenient space, such as the reception area or a green room; an on-day unveiling is available.[2]
- Agree whether this acrylic service includes varnishing and how handover or delivery will work.
Separate the wedding-day reveal from final completion
A reveal is not automatically the final handover. Dickinson takes the painting back to his studio after the wedding, so his event-day reveal is a stage in the commission rather than the point at which you take the finished piece home.[1]
For Sabale, ask for the completion and handover sequence in writing rather than treating the available unveiling as a promise of a transport-ready painting or later studio finishing.[2] His FAQ’s general commission timetable and oil-drying discussion should not be treated as the timetable for his acrylic wedding service.[2]
Agree separate milestones for arrival, setup, painting time, unveiling, any studio completion and dispatch.[3] Ask how much will be completed at the wedding, what later work is included and whether drying or curing is needed before transport.[3]
Compare the total price, deposit and travel commitment
- Liam Dickinson: The £1,100 package includes painting, fine-tuning, varnish, frame and shipping.[1] Regional adjustments are: North-West, no additional cost; North East, from £75; Midlands, from £100; South/London, from £250; and international work by quotation.[1] Monday–Thursday weddings receive a £100 discount.[1] A 25% deposit secures the booking, with the balance due shortly before the event.[1]
- Tushar Sabale: His FAQ does not state a live-wedding painting price; pricing may vary for venues outside London, so request a personalised quotation.[2] Booking requires a 50% non-refundable deposit, and interest-free payment plans are unavailable for live wedding paintings.[2]
Dickinson provides a published starting point, but neither artist can be ranked as cheaper without a Sabale quotation covering comparable artwork and inclusions.[1][2] Reconfirm the price and availability before booking.
Request a dated written total covering applicable taxes and agreed expenses, with travel, parking and any overnight accommodation identified as included, capped or estimated.[3] Ask for an exact balance deadline rather than relying on “shortly before the event”.[1]
Agree one artwork brief before choosing
Send each artist the same brief so their proposals describe the same commission, not merely a similar budget.[3] Include:
- Composition: the scene, precise moment and venue backdrop.[3]
- People: named, recognisable subjects, distinguished from loosely rendered background guests—do not assume every attendee will be identifiable.[3]
- Specification: medium, canvas dimensions, whether measurements include the frame, a style reference and expected level of detail.[3]
Ask what reference photographs and composition discussions they will use, and which decisions you can approve. CommissionIt recommends defining review stages and whether you will receive a progress image before the work is sealed.[3]
On scope rather than artistic quality, Dickinson’s offer suits a preference for studio finishing followed by a varnished, framed and shipped piece.[1] Sabale’s stated offer is a full-length couple-and-venue composition in acrylic on an 18 × 24-inch canvas, supplied unframed.[2]
Define approval, delivery and reproduction permissions
Record the studio work included, when you can review a progress image, which corrections are permitted, the revision limit and any extra charges.[3] Dickinson’s included fine-tuning should not be treated as an agreed allowance for client-requested changes.[1]
- Finish and handover: agree the frame specification for Dickinson’s included framing; plan separately for framing Sabale’s unframed canvas.[1][2] Record packaging, delivery or collection arrangements, completion and dispatch dates, and any drying or curing period.[3]
- Transit responsibility: ask whether the artwork is insured in transit and who handles delivery delays or damage, rather than stopping at whether shipping is included.[3]
- Permissions: agree whether you may photograph the painting, share images online or reproduce it as prints or thank-you cards. CommissionIt recommends defining photography and reproduction rights rather than assuming ownership of the physical painting answers those questions.[3]
What to confirm with each provider before paying
Dickinson’s wedding page and Sabale’s FAQ do not state revision allowances, formal approval stages or comprehensive cancellation, postponement and artist-unavailability remedies; Dickinson’s page also leaves the delivery deadline and shipping method unspecified.[1][2] Sabale’s stated non-refundable deposit is not a complete cancellation policy.[2]
- Artwork and approvals: confirm the agreed medium, dimensions and recognisable subjects for both commissions, including Dickinson’s included subject count; record reference approval, permitted corrections and additional revision charges.[1][3]
- Completion and delivery: set the final delivery deadline and method, including any later studio work or varnishing agreed for Sabale’s acrylic commission.[2][3]
- Location and access: confirm service coverage for your venue and the applicable contract jurisdiction. Agree access times, workspace, lighting, parking, power if needed and the venue’s public-liability insurance requirements.[3]
- Changes and disruption: agree charges and refunds following cancellation, postponement or a venue or scene change. Record how rain or schedule overruns affect attendance, additional hours or an alternative approach using photographs.[3]
- Artist absence: request a communication and contingency plan, including any substitute arrangements and financial remedies. An individual artist may be unable to guarantee a replacement with an identical style.[3]
Choose on the agreed artwork and complete written scope—not the headline price or wedding-day unveiling alone.
References
- Live Wedding Painting — Liam Dickinson (liamdickinson.co.uk)
- FAQ – Tushar Sabale (tusharsabale.com)
- Live Wedding Painter Cost UK: A Couple's Price Guide (commissionit.co.uk)